Which Triple Crown are we Speaking Of?

Tonight Miguel Cabrera may become the 14th player to achieve baseball’s Triple Crown.   But baseball isn’t the only sport with a Triple Crown.   In America, the other well-known Triple Crown is for thoroughbred racing.  Only 11 horses have reached that plateau.

So, how many baseball Triple Crown winners have a thoroughbred namesake (not necessarily a racing Triple Crown winner, but . . . ):

MLBer Horse
Nap Lajoie La Joie
Ty Cobb Ty Cobb
Jimmie Foxx
Lou Gehrig Gehrig
Ted Williams Teddy Ballgame
Mickey Mantle Mickey Mantle
Frank Robinson Frank Robinson
Carl Yastrzemski Yastrzemski
Paul Hines
Hugh Duffy
Rogers Hornsby Hornsby
Chuck Klein
Joe Medwick



1 thought on “Which Triple Crown are we Speaking Of?

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: