Opposing Pitchers Batting Eighth – History in Milwaukee Today

Today’s Giants/Brewers game is a first in MLB Opening Day history. Its the first time both opposing pitchers (in this case Wily Peralta and Madison Bumgarner) will bat eighth in an Opening Day tilt. Here are the 25 prior occurrences of both starting hurlers batting eighth, along with the respective managers and team game numbers.

date vteam vgm# hteam hgm# vmgrnam hmgrnam vspnam hspnam
20080415 MIL 13 SLN 14 Ned Yost Tony LaRussa David Bush Braden Looper
20080416 MIL 14 SLN 15 Ned Yost Tony LaRussa Carlos Villanueva Adam Wainwright
20080421 SLN 20 MIL 19 Tony LaRussa Ned Yost Adam Wainwright Carlos Villanueva
20080422 SLN 21 MIL 20 Tony LaRussa Ned Yost Kyle Lohse Manny Parra
20080509 SLN 37 MIL 35 Tony LaRussa Ned Yost Todd Wellemeyer Manny Parra
20080510 SLN 38 MIL 36 Tony LaRussa Ned Yost Joel Pineiro Ben Sheets
20080511 SLN 39 MIL 37 Tony LaRussa Ned Yost Braden Looper Jeff Suppan
20080512 SLN 40 MIL 38 Tony LaRussa Ned Yost Adam Wainwright David Bush
20080711 SLN 94 PIT 92 Tony LaRussa John Russell Kyle Lohse Zach Duke
20080712 SLN 95 PIT 93 Tony LaRussa John Russell Todd Wellemeyer Yoslan Herrera
20080713 SLN 96 PIT 94 Tony LaRussa John Russell Joel Pineiro Ian Snell
20150410 CHN 3 COL 4 Joe Maddon Walt Weiss Travis Wood Tyler Matzek
20150412 CHN 5 COL 6 Joe Maddon Walt Weiss Kyle Hendricks Jordan Lyles
20150512 NYN 33 CHN 32 Terry Collins Joe Maddon Noah Syndergaard Jake Arrieta
20150516 MIL 37 NYN 37 Craig Counsell Terry Collins Matt Garza Jacob deGrom
20150517 MIL 38 NYN 38 Craig Counsell Terry Collins Wily Peralta Noah Syndergaard
20150611 CIN 59 CHN 58 Bryan Price Joe Maddon Michael Lorenzen Tsuyoshi Wada
20150612 CIN 60 CHN 59 Bryan Price Joe Maddon Johnny Cueto Jason Hammel
20150613 CIN 61 CHN 60 Bryan Price Joe Maddon Mike Leake Kyle Hendricks
20150614 CIN 62 CHN 61 Bryan Price Joe Maddon Anthony DeSclafani Jon Lester
20150626 CIN 72 NYN 75 Bryan Price Terry Collins Johnny Cueto Noah Syndergaard
20150630 CHN 75 NYN 78 Joe Maddon Terry Collins Kyle Hendricks Jon Niese
20150702 CHN 77 NYN 80 Joe Maddon Terry Collins Jake Arrieta Jacob deGrom
20150720 CHN 91 CIN 90 Joe Maddon Bryan Price Clayton Richard Michael Lorenzen
20150901 SFN 132 LAN 131 Bruce Bochy Don Mattingly Madison Bumgarner Zack Greinke

2 thoughts on “Opposing Pitchers Batting Eighth – History in Milwaukee Today

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: